Peppie Calvar

Professor José “Peppie” Calvar - Setnor School of Music

Excerpt from The College of Visual & Performing Arts

José “Peppie” Calvar, D.M.A. is associate professor and assistant director of choral activities at the Setnor School of Music at Syracuse University where he directs the Hendricks Chapel Choir and serves as artistic director of Holidays at Hendricks. He is also chair of the Setnor School's Department of Applied Music and Performance.

Calvar also directs the University Tenor-Bass Ensemble called Setnor Sonority, and teaches conducting, graduate and upper-class choral literature and choral arranging. Prior to his appointment at Syracuse University, Calvar taught high school and middle school chorus and AP Music Theory at Northwest School of the Arts in Charlotte, NC from 2004-2013. Currently, he also serves as Director of Music at the Roman Catholic Parish of St. Ann in Manlius NY.

Calvar was an International Choral Exchange Program (ICEP) fellow through ACDA interfacing with Guatemala in 2018. He has since also enjoyed residencies at the University of Guanajuato in Mexico, and at the National University of Costa Rica, and he frequently travels across North and Central America providing clinics, masterclasses, and adjudications. He recently traveled to Africa to serve as a clinician at the International Conference for Organ and Choir in Accra, Ghana.

Calvar is also an accomplished composer. His Mass of Reconciliation for mixed chorus, soloists and jazz orchestra is available on and has been performed at Temple University, Coastal Carolina University, and Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center. Many of his compositions are published by Colla Voce publications, and he serves as a reader for the AP exam in Music Theory. Calvar holds degrees from East Carolina University, Georgia State University, and the University of South Carolina.

More Honors News

Phil Lockitt

July 12, 2024

Nash Pena

July 12, 2024

Grace Ripperger

July 8, 2024

Alexis Wilner

July 8, 2024

Megan Cooper

July 5, 2024

Tynan Weathers

July 5, 2024

Veronica Poole

July 1, 2024

MJ Gray

July 1, 2024

Sophie Creager-Roberts

June 28, 2024

Brendan Murty

June 24, 2024
Search our site

Search Our Site